Being a big girl


My daddy is sick.  As in not going to ever get better sick.  He is 85 and I will be 84 on Saturday, but I am still his little girl.  This is hard.  My daddy was a big man to me.  He may have only been 5 foot 6 or 5 foot7 but to me he was a giant.  He was a furniture mover, I saw him lift refrigerators by himself, I saw him control grand pianos…he would sit on a ladder and hoist furniture over his head.  Why even 15 years ago when I moved into my house, my dad, his old buddy, my cousin who if living would be a senior citizen and my husband “rigged” our giant sofa up a ladder to the second floor sliding glass door to get it in the house, my Pop was 70 and leading the the charge!

I’m not ready for whatever is next

Leave a Reply

